So How’d It Go?

I wanted to loop back on my last post about my daughter and godson heading off to Chrysalis, and share that God was most definitely on the move that weekend!

I lost track of all the God-sightings during the time. It was great to have them share the time, and my godson even commented in his testimony at the end how meaningful it was to spend it with his sister in Christ. It was moving, frankly, to have prayed over their crosses after I dropped them off, and then to see them wear them home at the end. It was wonderful to share Candlelight with them, and to have been able to bring my wife up to be a part of both Candlelight and Closing, her first exposure to the Emmaus community and hopefully a positive experience for her that might plant, a little deeper, the seed of wanting to have that same experience. It was tremendous to hear each of the kids testify about what the weekend meant–both the kids I know, and some of the ones I didn’t. One, who said he really hadn’t wanted to be there, found his heart transformed by the Spirit over the weekend, which was just so powerful to hear. It was so, so thrilling to join with everyone in Closing and singing “Great I Am,” the kids’ theme song of the weekend, in one gigantic circle of love. And then on coming home, to hear them telling so excitedly of their experiences, sharing with their moms, and talking of wanting to go up on team sometime. And it didn’t end there: my godson’s Facebook posts have been sharing bits of his weekend ever since!

The more I see God move, the more I feel my own inadequacy at trying to wish for anything specific for them ahead of time. He knew exactly what each of them needed, and he came through in his own way for each of them, just the way he always intended. I thank God for the chance to have been at the periphery of it, and I look forward to what he will do in their lives next.

Author: Waiting For Life

Eric's not a pastor, nor does he play one on TV. He's a Certified Lay Servant in the United Methodist Church, which is a long way of saying he's just another guy in the pews who happens to be able to write and speak a little about Christ in the church. He's been a CLS since 2003 and has been preaching and teaching about Christ since 1995.

One thought on “So How’d It Go?”

Leave a Reply

